Self-Evaluation

Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
2 min readApr 25, 2016

While filling out a self evaluation form I learned a few new things about myself and how I should conduct business going forward. I noticed that the biggest area that I need improvement in would be doing things in a timely manner. Man I’ll be the first to tell anybody that I do things at the last minute all the time. I’m not sure why but I sort of enjoy the stress of last minute working. I personally like working well after midnight because the world is sleep and it gives me time to really think and get my thoughts together without distraction. It probably takes me about 15 minutes to edit a quick photo session and could have in done and sent by the time the client gets home, but in my opinion I work best under pressure and I enjoy listening to my favorite Outkast or Big KRIT album while editing till the wee hours of the morning.

Another area that could probably use some improvement is willingness to ask for help. I’m the type who would rather do EVERYTHING on my own. One for bragging reasons, and two because I hate having to rely on people then getting either disappointed or having to wait hours for them to complete. When Im ready to move Im ready to move right then and there. I guess you could say I don’t play well in the sandbox but if I could find those as eager as I am to work we may be able to make something happen.

Over the past few months I’ve learned so much about the business side of photography and that no matter how good your work is, if you don’t market yourself in a way that will attract potential clients, its all a waste. I’ve tried to be what I thought a photographer is supposed to be and I’ve also tried to emulate my peers. Being myself is truly the best way to go about it because it reflects my work. Its my creativity, work ethic, and personality that sets me apart from those around me and ill continue to work on my craft.

--

--