Shooting with a purpose

Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2016

Up until last week I was actually getting bored with photography and felt like I was just shooting just because. It wasn’t until I had to do an assignment for class that actually gave me something to work towards again.

Photography conferences is something i’ve always wanted to go to but the problem was it interfered with either my class or work schedule. Since quitting my job and with graduation less than a month away I can finally do something about it. Most of what I have learned as a photographer has been through watching youtube videos and through hands on experience. I came across an upcoming conference in January of 2017 called Imaging USA and say that I could actually apply to be a presenter and if selected I would be able to showcase my talents and teach others. After seeing the submission requirements I kicked it into high gear.

In a weeks time I have launched my website Raineyphotos.com, started a YouTube channel, and began to market myself as a working professional. Speaking at that conference is truly my main goal right now because if accepted that means my work is something other photographers admire and want to learn more about. Since the conference isn’t until January, it gives me plenty of time to continue to build my brand and get my name out there. It also gives me an excuse to shoot more and update my site and channels on the regular.

--

--