Brad’s Own Private Queer Nation

Portrait of a man, seeking

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Photo from Adobe Stock

That day is past
You’ve gone away
This aching heart of mine is singing
Lover, come back to me ¹

Meeting Jim almost saved me.

The family him and Lenny gave me was almost enough to make life sweet again. But in the end? No,we ain’t got to that part yet, and if I hurry, you’ll just leave, and I’ll be stuck here, dyin alone in this bed.

Sneak me another shot a that vodka, huh?

After Luke pulled away from me, I was lost. He was just doing everything he knew to stay alive, but that didn’t make me feel no better. I dint know what to feel first. Sad I couldn’t help him?

Or guilty he was gonna die and I wasn’t?

That night after the pipe bomb, he was already sick. The hospital had been trying to get him his test results for two weeks.

He wasn’t just HIV positive, he had less than 200 T cells. Major AIDS. I forgot he’d gone to see a doctor at the ER about all the sore throats and fevers he kept gettin.

When we got there that night, the bad news was waiting for him. I joined Act Up because I thought it might get Luke back. Instead, it helped me get over him.

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.