Confederate and Rainbow flags on US Military Bases

Dark Green Marines and LGBTQ Pride

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Public domain image by USMC Staff Sgt. Rebecca L. Floto from a Marine Corps Times article.

I cheered Saturday when I heard the Pentagon, in a move that thwarts Donald Trump, is effectively banning the Confederate flag from all US military installations. As a former enlisted Marine and Air Force intelligence officer, I know symbols of racism and slavery must hold no place of honor in any military setting.

Black service members have let their leaders know that emblems of American racism are deeply offensive and utterly unacceptable. Leaders have heard and responded.

To get around Trump’s outspoken support the Confederate flag, however, the Pentagon banned all unofficial flags. This means the LGBTQ Pride flag, often flown on US bases in recent years, is also now banned.

This effective banning sends a toxic message, and while I don’t believe top military leaders mean to send that message, damage will nonetheless be done.

I’m reminded of lessons of tolerance I learned as a 17-year-old Marine recruit at Boot Camp in San Diego, decades ago.

I cringed as my drill instructor loomed over me. “Recruit!” he shouted, nose bearing down on mine, breath hot and sour. “What color am I, recruit?”

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.