Gender Fluid, Pansexual, and in Love with a Jerk

What do they do now?

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Dear Aunty Jimothy,

I’m a 22-year-old gender fluid pansexual, dating this person none of my friends like. I admit my crush isn’t very good looking and sometimes they aren’t very nice to me, but I wish my friends would just leave us alone. My love life is MY problem. How do I tell my friends to back off?

Annoyed in Anchorage

Child! Have your friends been chilling with my buddy Dame Edna? I swear that woman is so jealous she’d chase off any man old Jimothy got her hooks into. Never trust an Australian in fake fur, dear. Tsk.

Oh, I’m sorry, did somebody think that was REAL chinchilla? As real as the old harridan’s pearls! *cough*

Seriously, dear, you’re lucky to have friends who care, even if they’re being pains. Maybe especially because they’re being pains. I’m not telling you to trust them to be right. Just to listen to them.

Can I tell you a story?

Once upon a time, I fell in love with somebody totally unexpected. My friends gasped in shock. Child! You should have heard the rude remarks about his head and how a paper bag would be an appropriate fashion accessory.

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.