I Didn’t Know I Was Bi Until My 30s

Why did it take me so long to figure it out?

Esther Spurrill-Jones
James Finn - The Blog
3 min readJul 9, 2019

--

Photo by Icons8 team on Unsplash

My first crush was an older boy in my church youth group who played Jesus in our tiny Passion play. I was thirteen and his sixteen seemed impossibly older and dignified. I don’t think he ever knew I gazed at him longingly from afar. But then, when Katy Perry’s music video for “Teenage Dream” dropped, I watched it once, and for days replayed in my head the scenes of Katy in her underwear, not understanding why.

I loved the playful subversiveness of Leigh Nash singing “There She Goes” in her sparkling crystalline voice. But I didn’t know that’s why I loved it. We played “Kiss Me” at every church youth event that year. Sixpence None the Richer was acceptable in Christian circles so I could listen to a girl singing about how she “just can’t contain this feeling” about another girl without any guilt.

When I played the Elder Scrolls RPGs, the in-game option of romancing and marrying an NPC fascinated me. And I immediately pursued a woman to marry (I was playing as a woman). I never even considered any of the marriageable male NPCs.

I’ve always loved stories of True Love™, like The Princess Bride, Beauty and the Beast, and Cinderella. For a little while, in my early teens, I lamented the fact that Charles was too old and William and Harry…

--

--