Late Summer Fruit

A sensory distillation of childhood. Prose and a plea.

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Chasing Fireflies by Sylvia Pimental

Childhood is sweet for many, but not for all. Shortly after this beautiful memory of childhood, everything changed for me. At the end of this brief work of sensory prose, I plead for hope and help for children in need.

I remember being a child, wrestling on the grass in the front lawn on a molten July evening.

The sun is sinking, but it beats viciously in retreat. The air trembles as if in waves from an open furnace.

Eyes level with scorched-tip grass, I marvel as fireflies began to blink in … then out. One by one.

I leap to chase them, pouncing, collecting them in a margarine tub with slits cut in the translucent lid.

Brown grass and humidity assault the bare skin of my chest. I scratch, fighting fierce itching.

I sink to my knees, panting.

Mom calls us to the porch. “Come on kids! You too, Jamie. Let’s go.”

She has slices of ice-cold, sugary watermelon waiting for us on white paper plates.

I sit on a lawn chair in cut-off jeans, cooling my insides, spitting seeds into the grass, and watching the fireflies dance, mirroring the stars that are just winking in.

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.