Racist, Anti-LGBTQ Groups Surge

Trump, SPLC, pandemics, and saying no to hate

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Photo by Anthony Crider, Charlottesville “Unite the Right” Rally, CC BY 2.0, Wikimedia Commons

I pushed my cart past a young woman loading up on groceries yesterday. She grabbed a bulging family pack of chicken legs — the last of the chicken in the case.

I stopped and looked, because the empty shelves were surreal, not because I particularly needed chicken. She gave me a worried smile, eyes darting between me and her cart, which was overloaded with food. Based on the type of food, I gathered she had small children to worry about.

“I’m sorry,” she said, holding out the package of poultry. “Did you need this? I didn’t mean to take the last one.”

Her kindness set me back a step. I thanked her and declined with a warm smile. My pantry is stocked. With just me and my elderly father at home, our food needs don’t amount to much.

In the past two weeks, the world has woken to the reality of a serious pandemic

As we unite to fight a virus that threatens our civilized foundations, we find ourselves struggling to reconcile the common good with self preservation. In the next few weeks, many of us will grapple with ideas about who is our neighbor, who is our family, and who is other.

Our current president makes…

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.