Radical Supreme Court Orals Today a Blow to LGBTQ People

Election narrows path to mitigate damage

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

--

Human rights protestors outside the Supreme Court. Photo by Ted Eytan. (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Ever had one of those days when waking up felt dangerous? I was up an hour before my alarm this morning, too anxious to sleep, stomach clenching over the possibility that Donald Trump might win another term as president.

But as a gay man and a lifelong LGBTQ advocate, another huge matter occupied my mind. As I write this , I’ve been closely following Supreme Court oral arguments in Fulton v City of Philadelphia, a case that is genuinely frightening for LGBTQ and other marginalized people.

While the high court will not hand down its potentially landmark decision for some months, initial impressions are that justices are inclined to substantially ratchet back protections for LGBTQ people in a way that could also eliminate government protections for other minorities.

I’m not a lawyer and I’m not writing a legal analysis today, but if you’d like to see more details than I’m providing, please see Slate journalist Chase Stranglio’s real-time oral-argument commentary.

--

--

James Finn
James Finn - The Blog

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.