Every adventure begins with a single step.

James Giroux
James Giroux
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2020
Brian Krogsgard (PostStatus) in my first ever event booth with Coxy and Freeo (Envato) who flew over to join me at Pressnomics 4 in Tempe.

About five years ago, I took a step and applied for a job at Envato. I remember being excited and nervous and unsure that I would even get it. I was so excited to get the call that said I had made it. Just a couple of months in I was on my first trip representing Envato at a conference and meeting authors for the first time and representing Envato in the WordPress ecosystem. It was the start of a beautiful adventure.

Now, the time has come for me to take the next step on my adventure. I’ll be finishing up my staff role at Envato on October 16 and joining Gravity Forms (in the WordPress space), as their new Community Experience Manager.

Our first EuroTour event in Rotterdam in 2017.

The opportunity to get to know Envato’s community of incredibly gifted and talented creators is something I will treasure forever. I am so lucky to have been able to meet many of you in person, hear your stories and see the impact you have had on Envato.

Meeting authors in Krakow. We followed this up with some interesting food and drink followed by a trip to a sausage truck. It was awesome.

You haven’t just impacted Envato, you’ve had a profound impact on me too. Whether walking and talking about WordPress late at night on the streets of London, enjoying a sauna and studio tour in Moscow, scooting down the streets of LA talking video or whitewater rafting and discussing graphics in Yogyakarta, this community has made me feel welcome, been unafraid to tell me how they really feel about things and always willing to share their stories.

The ThemeRex team in Kyiv taking us on a tour of the city.
My first time to Moscow, our largest event to date (at the time) and the first time I had a glimpse at what celebrities go through. So. Many. Photo requests.
Walking around Berlin, talking Envato and seeing the Brandenburg Gate.

Thank you for welcoming me into your lives, into your homes and into your creativity. I will miss getting together with you for those shared experiences but I am so proud of the team we’ve built here at Envato who are just as passionate as I am about you and what you do.

My first time in Southeast Asia was to Hanoi. What an awesome community of creators.
Me, Steve, Louise & Sarah (L-R).

To my team, Louise, Sarah and Steve; thank you so much for putting your trust in me over these last four years. It has been so amazing to be on this journey with you, to laugh, challenge and learn from each other is something I will never forget.

Stockwaves showing me around Stockholm in one of those bucket list moments visiting Scandinavia.
After a 3-hour drive that took 5 hours, we finally made it to our Italy meetup to hang out with these lovely people.

I’ll still be around Envato, just in a new role as a member of the customer community. I hope we’ll run into each other and you can always check in on me via social media (my username is jamesgiroux pretty much everywhere).

Thanks for all the great memories and here’s to the next big adventure.

--

--