Welcome to my Blog!

Starting my journey…

James Kerrane
James Kerrane
2 min readJun 11, 2017

--

Hello! My name is James Kerrane. I am a new coder in the tech world, and I am starting this blog to help document my experience. In addition to that, I am planning on posting tutorials, coding examples, and anything cool I find along the way.

So who am I?

I am a coder who specializes in web design (so far). I mostly code in HTML, but I know CSS and a little of JavaScript. Throughout this journey, I am using freeCodeCamp to help me learn. freeCodeCamp is a free online coding “Bootcamp” that helps people learn how to code. freeCodeCamp has three different certifications that us campers (as they call us) can work for. The first one is called Front End Development Certification. This is a certification that lets others know that you can use HTML, CSS, and JavaScript in web design. It teaches you how to use tools such as Bootstrap, jQuery, and more.

Image from freeCodeCamp

The second certification is called Data Visualization Certification. To earn this certification, you need to know how to use Sass, React, and D3. In this state, the certification doesn’t have a lot of challenges, as they are still in beta.
The third certification is called Back-End Development Certification. To earn this certification, you need to know how to use Node.js, Express.js, Git, and MongoDB.

The last certification is called Full Stack Development Certification. This certification is part of freeCodeCamp’s mission. Their mission is to help non-profits, by letting people practice their code by coding projects for nonprofits. This helps both nonprofits and coders. To pass this certification, you need to create four projects benefiting nonprofits.

Where am I in this journey currently? I am in the very beginning, before the first certification. If freeCodeCamp’s predictions are correct, it will take me over 414 hours of coding to get to the first certification. In all, the whole “Bootcamp” has over 2080 hours of lessons.

Image from freeCodeCamp

Hopefully, I persevere over this journey and make it through.
Thank you for reading my first blog post. If you liked it, please share this blog post, as that would be greatly appreciated!

If you liked this article, please 👏 below, so that other people can find it! :D

--

--