What I learned from my toothpaste tube

James Melcer
The Blog of James Melcer
2 min readApr 18, 2017

There is a tube of Crest Pro-Health toothpaste in my bathroom drawer right now, and I hate it. Every time I try to snap the cap back on the tube after brushing my teeth the toothpaste squirts everywhere. As if that’s not enough the cap is designed with a bunch of little nooks and crannies that make it impossible to keep clean, so I am constantly wiping the toothpaste residue it leaves behind off everything else in my bathroom drawer. I wonder if the people at Crest thought about this when they were designing the tube and the cap. I hope not. I would rather imagine that they forgot to try than that they tried and failed this miserably.

I will never buy this kind of toothpaste again. Not because I don’t like the toothpaste (it’s actually fine), but because I hate the experience of using it. It doesn’t matter how great your product is. If your customers are having anything less than a great experience when they are shopping for it, buying it, and consuming it you are going to have a hard time building a winning business.

PS: That’s not my toothpaste tube pictured above. When I searched “toothpaste mess” on Google images it was one of the first results. Guess I’m not alone in my crusade against Crest Pro-Health toothpaste tubes.

--

--