HOW I GREW MY INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT FROM ZERO TO 17,000 FOLLOWERS

Jan Limark
Jan Always Writes
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2020
How To Grow Instagram Account in 12 Months

Before I even begin, I will straight up tell you that it took me more than 12 months to grow my Instagram account.

Yes! I did not have the opportunity to go viral like other Instagram creators. But, through these strategies, I reached my goal of having more than 17,000 Instagram followers.

Still interested? Good! Let’s begin.

I started posting on my Instagram account in January 2019. That’s the time when I saw bloggers but mostly meme bloggers rise into stardom. I am really not into fashion and food photography so I chose meme posting. Yup! I’m one of those meme spammers on Instagram popping our of nowhere.

In the first 2 to 3 months of posting, I paid some hefty amount of Instagram Ads. This method only allowed me to post once a day which is not ideal. I only gained 1,000 followers even though I already spent hundreds of dollars. That scenario made me ignore my account for 1 whole month.

I’m so close to giving up but fortunately, I stumbled upon this Meme account which I follow. I saw his follower count grew from 1,000 to 15,000 in 7 months. Upon chatting with him, I learned that he only did 2 things to grow his account: POST AND USE HASHTAGS. At first, I was like, okay? I already did that but okay?!?

What I didn’t realize is that he used SPECIFIC hashtags to gain a lot of post impressions. I copied his set of hashtags and in 1 month, my post’s likes grew from 50 to at least 1,000!

Below are the specific hashtags I used in the first 12 months:

#relatableposts #textpostmemes #anxietyisreal #funnytweet #funnytweets #relatabletweets #relatables #makeupmemes #tweetlikethe2000s #aussiememes #relatablequotes #relatablepost #grungeaesthetics #aesthetictextposts #textpostsfunny #relatablepost #relatabletextpost #relatableteen #relatables #sorelatable

I consistently posted at least 5 times a day for 12 months! I don’t know if this will also be applicable to non-meme accounts but it is worth the try. My next plan for my account is to launch merchandise after reaching 30,000 this year.

Best Regards,
Jan Limark

--

--