How do you give value through content?

Jan Johan
Jan Johan
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2018
https://www.instagram.com/thejan_andonly/?hl=en

The last time I tried building a personal brand on social media, I encountered content fatigue for the first time. I started off making a lot of content in the first couple of weeks of starting the new account, but I quickly realized that I couldn’t keep up with other content creators who were putting in more hours in their content and production than I was… So this time around, it was really important that I nailed down a system of producing content in a way that won’t burn me out. Bonus points if the content is something that is unique to me.

This time I really had to think about the things that make me unique, as well as what kind of value I could potentially offer to people.

One way that I can make content that is unique to my brand is by documenting my “story” or “personal journey”. By documenting instead of creating content, it should be easier for me to tap into the drive to make more content.

https://www.instagram.com/thejan_andonly/?hl=en

So let’s say I’m beginning to understand the importance of bringing value through my content. The next thing I’ve been thinking about lately is…

how I can make it interesting enough for people to care?

On this board, I’m asking myself

“Why should people care about me and the content I make?” What’s something I can do that is unique to me + brings value to others, and yet still remain relevant for people to get invested in? Maybe they like how my notes look? Maybe they’ll find something I write down useful to their situation?

I guess only time will tell really… When I think about accessible content, I’m thinking beyond just value and creative content. I’m thinking about how I can make this content “appealing” to first-time viewers. What’s the hook? How can make content that will resonate with new and existing viewers?

--

--