Research, Break it down, Replicate, Customize.

Jan Johan
Jan Johan
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2018
https://www.instagram.com/thejan_andonly/?hl=en

One of the best ways I learn and pick up new things is by seeing other people do them first. It’s like learning how to play an instrument, or how to draw, or even dance. Watching and observing the way others do things is such a fantastic way to learn.

After spending so much time thinking about my goals and how to achieve them, now I have to start thinking about how to start…

  • First I do some research — I search for someone who’s already successful in the things I want to end up doing.
  • From there, I start to break it down and analyze the things they did to be successful.
  • After that, I try to figure out how I can replicate what they did and then do it myself.
  • Finally, once I start understanding the process of replicating the content (or actions), I start customizing things around the process to start doing things the way I would naturally do them in my own way.

Learning and replicating the things that other people are doing is a great way to learn, but it’s even more important to customize things and make them more distinct to your personality. Always keep things authentic.

https://www.instagram.com/thejan_andonly/?hl=en

What are other people doing? How are they doing it?

This is me trying to look at a few other examples of popular Instagram types i.e. Personal Health & Fitness, Fashion & Lifestyle, and Photography .

I tried to look at how each one brings value to their audience through their content, each in their own unique way. People who are able to give value through their content have managed to make it in a way that is unique to them as a person.

In short, this was a form of me asking myself how I can create valuable content in a way that is unique to me and my skills…

--

--