Advice From the Woman in Your Anthropologie Catalog

She wants you to know that you can live her lifestyle if you buy that $800 vase

Jennifer Haubrich
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Photo by Pylyp Sukhenko on Unsplash

Hello, I’m the woman who lives in this Anthropologie catalog. I look great in all the clothing this company sells, even those that require the hips of a 10-year-old. That’s why I not only get to live here — I get paid to!

I know my life can seem unrelatable to you.

Yet each month I see you thumbing through this catalog with that wistful look on your face, unsure of what to do. I realize you need my help.

The items in this catalog will make your life so much better.

I’ll show you around my house so you can see what I mean.

First is the kitchen. What you need here are fresh baked goods stacked on a triple-tiered platter made of sea glass and wood from the petrified forest. Not only does this display demonstrate the proper aesthetic, but it also relates that you have either incredible willpower or a fast metabolism.

You must buy one, along with a dozen appliqued kitchen towels, a set of dishes for each season, a dozen Bavarian pretzel-inspired coffee mugs, and these dry clean-only pot holders that can be converted into ear muffs.

--

--

Jennifer Haubrich
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Finding the funny in relationships, parenting, life, and personifying inanimate objects. Contact: jenniferh@lumieremedia.com