Images public domain, altered

Emily Dickinson Finds Meaning in a Modern World

“If I can stop one friend from dating, I shall not live in vain.”

Zoe/ Zoieyx
2 min readSep 6, 2023

--

If I Can Stop One Friend From Dating

If I can stop one friend from dating,
a guy with a guitar he can hardly play;
If I can keep one angry text from escalating,
Or delete one app that makes me insane,
Or pet one wandering cat
Without scaring it away,
I shall not live in vain.

If I can stop one road from raging,
when a car swerves into my lane;
If I can show a friend one movie,
Or one song they’ll replay,
Or curb one stomach’s craving
By eating one more piece of cake,
I shall not live in vain.

If I can attend one party without complaining,
About someone there I hate;
If I can take up one hobby without bailing,
Or giving up after one day,
Or send a friend one Pinterest board
When they need to redecorate,
I shall not live in vain.

--

--