Extremely Plausible Reasons Why I Can’t Go on a Digital Detox

It’s because I have FOMO — Fear of Major Ordeal

Laura-Liisa Klaas
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket
4 min readApr 11, 2024

--

A woman with auburn hair resting her head on her hands and looking worried with thought bubbles on the right of her with a giraffe and other animals inside a room and on her left an angry crowd of people
Image created by author, using Canva

Time and again I have scrolled past a pretentious sun kissed bohemian “nomad” proclaiming they are blissfully happy with their successful digital detox while living in an eco-yurt in Bali, being at one with the Earth and yet still somehow relevant and super popular online.

Let me tell you, Fran with a straw hat, tanned legs and carefully curated feed, you can shut up. Some of us have to actually work for a living in an actual society and don’t have the funds for a “down to earth” beachfront hut with mysteriously good connectivity. Here’s why I cannot go on a digital detox for longer than the 7 hours of sleep at night.

I will get cancelled by my fans that I’m sure are out there somewhere

OK, I can like, totally live without knowing how many likes my “I’m going on a digital detox” post got on the gram, but what if people comment nice things and then when I don’t heart those comments and reply with an equally appreciative message, they get bitter and start slagging me off.

One thing leads to another and now I am suddenly a toxic liar who is “probably not even on a digital detox because “nothing that b**** does is…

--

--