Here’s my Simple, Incremental Approach to Washing Tonight’s Dishes

After all, honey, Rome wasn’t built in a day

Andrew Biro
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Image from Canva.

Hey,

Thanks again for tonight’s delicious meal of fish fingers and little trees for Eliza and Jasper, and steak, cheesy mash and broccoli for ourselves.

You’re an organized person: after all, for our second date, you called ahead to book us a table at Starbucks! But, as we all know, I bring a more easy-going approach, which Eliza and Jasper value when they’re allowed to stay up playing Call of Duty until midnight, before kindergarten the next day.

So, it should be no surprise to you that I’m also taking this balanced and informal approach to tonight’s washing up.

But to reassure you, I’ve put it into a plan, showing you more less what’s going to happen (and not happen) and when (or not).

My plan

Day 1: Place plates, cutlery, pots and pans into sink. Maybe splash some water on top to pretend I’ve started the process. I might squirt a wasteful blob of dishwashing detergent into the corner of the sink, where it will make a small trail like airplane sky writing and do no real good at all.

Day 2: Add new plates, cutlery, pots and pans on top of the existing materials in the sink…

--

--