I Quit Murdering People for 7 Days. Here’s What Happened.

The hidden cost of homicide

Philip S. Naudus
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

A purposeful life requires more than a sharp blade (image by author/jcomp/freepik)

My love-hate relationship with homicide has always been complicated. The late nights spent disposing of evidence, the constant stream of alibis. It was exhausting, both physically and emotionally.

So I stopped. I quit with any form of murder for a week — not even a quick, harmless poisoning of a stranger’s coffee. It was time for a change, a pivot toward a healthier, more sustainable lifestyle.

Here’s what I learned.

Murder is a tool

During my murder-free week, I came to understand that I’m not defined by who or even how many people I’ve killed. There are many legitimate reasons to end someone’s life, but far too often I’ve mindlessly eliminated people whose disappearances didn’t even matter.

Before reaching for a weapon, it’s important to evaluate a victim’s significance. A well-thought-out hit is far more satisfying than a hasty, impulsive one.

If this was the last victim you could ever eliminate, would you choose this person?

Be present in the moment

Being mindful of the precise movements of my blade has given me a heightened sensitivity to the emotions victims…

--

--

Philip S. Naudus
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

High school teacher by day, koala by night. My wife is a cartoonist with a Ph.D., and she co-authors all of these articles.