I, the Oxford Comma, No Longer Wish to Be a Source of Divisiveness Between Coworkers, Families, or Anyone Else

Please don’t make me fuel for your culture war

Jeff King
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Image created by author

When I first heard that I was being used as a question in hiring settings, I’ll admit I was flattered. To ask a newly minted Bachelor of Arts whether or not they were committed to the use of the Oxford comma in their writing felt clever and definitely like an adequate criterion for judging someone’s character.

Yes? Great. This person must be really invested in clear writing, organized thinking, and supporting readers.

No? Hmm, must be some kind of deranged anarchist looking to undermine democracy.

Initially, I was glad to be able to help slot people into obvious hiring categories like this. Not to mention, I’ve heard anarchists can be real grumps to work with.

It gradually became clear that there was a third group of people: those who did not have an opinion and/or would not recognize an Oxford comma if they bumped into me in a grocery aisle, airport security lineup, or local park.

At first, I was offended by these people. At least anarchists have the decency to tell you to your face how they feel (and maybe also to show you how they feel by means of a…

--

--

Jeff King
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Jeff's writing has appeared in McSweeney's, Johnny America, Jane Austen's Wastepaper Basket, MuddyUm, Slackjaw, and elsewhere. For more, visit jeffiswriting.ca.