I’m Here to Fulfill Your Fantasies in this Contemporary Romance Novel

Maybe someday I’ll be a real boy

Kate Brennan
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

topless man holding roses against a black background; alt-text for “I am the Guy in the Contemporary Romance Novel & I’ll wait for you”
Made in Canva

Wait!

I like you. I mean, I like like you.

I know what you’re thinking: I wear flannel, — but I am enlightened. I’m #feminist.

And I am not at all an illusion of a human being collaged from Teen Glamour, rejected NY Times poetry and alt-rock lyrics.

I understand. You have to work. You have a career. It’s important for your contributions to be valued. I understand you have to put work first and I may not get all the attention I hoped to get. It’s okay. I will be okay with that.

When I leave the scene I don’t just power down like all the unused robots in Westworld. I have a garage where I woodwork; I have a dog. I swear I live a life outside of these pages where I try to hide my irrepressible love for you.

Sure, I’m not on social media, but that’s a life choice that aligns with my living off the grid aesthetic, not an indicator that I have no digital imprint and am not a real life person.

Look, I know, I know I am an adonis hewn from marble and I own the building/ the dog groomers/ the bar. And I like you, just how you are, even though you hate Minnesota, my gorgeous snow-covered home state. Even…

--

--

Kate Brennan
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

More Humor. More Humanity. Avid Reader. Idea-Generator. Opportunity Matchmaker. The answer to “Did you make that?” is “Yes.” morehumormorehumanity@substack.com