“Just Say No” to Being Poor

No matter where you are in life, prosperity is just a few million dollars away

Philip S. Naudus
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Poverty isn’t just a state of being — it’s a choice (vector_corp/freepik/Author)

Every day, I’m confronted with the harsh realities of people less fortunate than myself. Whether it’s the homeless person huddled under a tattered blanket or the single mother working three jobs, I can’t help but feel guilty for having amassed more wealth than I could possibly spend in a dozen lifetimes.

Because I care so much about my fellow men, I’ve determined the best course of action is to trample over everyone in my way. By denying people access to basic necessities, I’m teaching them the importance of resilience and resourcefulness. And by stimulating demand for high-end goods and services, I serve as a beacon of hope for the less fortunate.

Despite everything I do, society somehow paints me as the villain. Everyone seems to think being a billionaire is a dream come true. But let me assure you, life at the top isn’t all champagne and caviar. Oftentimes, it’s just champagne.

The real victims are members of the elite who are continuously burdened by the sight of poverty. This struggle to make ends meet needs to end once and for all. Everyone needs to understand that poverty is a choice.

--

--

Philip S. Naudus
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

High school teacher by day, koala by night. My wife is a cartoonist with a Ph.D., and she co-authors all of these articles.