My Home is an Exact Replica of The Shrieking Shack from Harry Potter and If One More Kid Dares Try to Trick-or-Treat, I’m Going to Lose It!

“Sorry, children. As you can clearly see, none of the doors or windows to the Shrieking Shack are operational.”

Andrew Knott
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket
4 min readOct 24, 2019

--

Photo by Conner Baker on Unsplash

I’ve finally done it! It took five full months of work, but my Halloween masterpiece is complete. And just in time for the big night.

I have converted my humble abode into an exact replica of the Shrieking Shack from Harry Potter!

Can you believe it? If you look closely, I believe you’ll see I have not missed a single detail. Talk about world building! My patron saint J.K. Rowling would no doubt be impressed by my commitment and skill.

The first thing you’ll notice is that every window and door has been meticulously boarded up. That’s key because we know from the books that the defining feature of the Shack is that the doors and windows are boarded up.

Next, note the sounds escaping from the cracks between the boards. Do you hear that plaintive howling? Guess who it is. Right! It’s none other than Hogwarts professor turned werewolf Remus Lupin. How did I manage to make the sound so realistic? Great question. First, I…

--

--

Andrew Knott
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Essayist, humorist, novelist. Dad of three. Editor of Frazzled. Debut novel LOVE'S A DISASTER (May 21, 2024, Bayou Wolf Press). Website: AndrewKnottAuthor.com