Noah Webster’s Secret Love Letters From “U” Found

Now “U” will never know what might have been

Victoria A. Fraser
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels

The following letters have been transcribed from Noah Webster’s collection of secret letters found in a drawer with a bottle of whiskey and a handkerchief embroidered with the letter U. It reveals that he was once in a secret relationship with a mysterious woman named Uriel, and who was, unsurprisingly, erased from history.

Saturday, December 1st, 1781

Dearest Noah,

I arose this morning to empty sheets. Am I just another fling to you? You can’t run from me. I am all too ubiquitous. You can’t hide from me in your little pile of dictionaries and lexicons.

This is not how you treat a lady. I expect a swift apology or else I shall be forced to toss your beloved copy of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream out a window and let rot in a ditch.

Angrily,

Uriel

Monday, December 17th, 1781

My Tender Lexicographer,

Forgive me. I was just suffering from a bout of hysteria. I heard your private school is closing down and you fled town. Was it because of me? Did I use the word ubiquitous too much? Was it because my pronunciation of dead languages was incorrect?

--

--

Victoria A. Fraser
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Freelance copywriter, humourist, podcaster, and nerd. Follow along for writing tips, marketing blather, and my opinions! victoriafraser.ca