Ode to the Ketogenic Diet

“How do I love thee? Let me count the fats…”

Chris Dickinson
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket
3 min readApr 10, 2021

--

1

Oh thou, with all omnivorous glory crowned

Which doth my plate with cheese and meat do fill

I praise shall lift to God that I have found

A diet which doth not forbid the grill

Oh thou devised of Woodyatt and Wilder

To remedy that ill once thought divine

Twill ape the monk but substitute his plate

For something o’er much milder

Than those few granate seeds of Proserpine

Or chicken shriveled by the charcoal grate

2

How do I love thee? Let me count the fats

Of cheese, of cream and butter unforbid

Of chicken, bacon, corned beef, ham and brats

Of lobster, oysters, scallop, shrimp and squid!

Bedeck my spinach leaves with cheddar sharp

And eke with bacon bits and peperone

I’ll not complain, for poultry and for pork

Doth substitute my carp

And gives to me such joy that I now own

From all that sits atop my crowded fork

3

But soft! What light through oven window breaks?

The cheese upon tomato sauce doth sit

But underneath — what foreign matter cakes

To turn the pizza in my mouth to grit?

“Where is the dough?!” I cried to God aloud

But answer none from heaven’s choirs came

All bread’s forbid!’ I heard from depths below

Which wrapped me in a shroud

And caused my tortured heart to curse the name

That heretofore had set it all aglow

4

“Restore the Bread!” I cry to all around

But no reply doth greet my tortured ears

“Restore the Bread!” my kitchen tiles rebound

Like mocking sprites who prey upon my fears

I cast sad look upon my swollen garb

And mourn for loss of granulation fine

To know that from this fate-accurséd hour

I must abjure all carb;

I’ll to my leaf-wrapped sandwiches resign

And measure out my life with cauliflower

5

My heart aches as I hear the oven sound

With trembling hand I ope the furnace door

A pleasing fragrance wraps my senses round

And wakens all my stomach’s hunger sore

I bear my spatula unto the grate

And slip the pie onto my burnished tray

At once upon the stove I cut a slice

Prepared to meet my fate —

I do the piece unto my mouth convey

And swallow up the whole shard in a trice…

6

A dish of beauty is a joy forever

My stomach smiles as it the slice receives

I’ll ne’er my heart from Keto’s love dissever

But hold it fast like pie to mouth-roof cleaves

A crust of vegetable I thought a flaw

And feared a chicken wrapped in cabbage leaf

But decked with cheese and eke tomato sauce

Red in tooth and claw

I shall ne’er with this diet come to grief

But with a gilded plate its name emboss!

--

--

Chris Dickinson
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Christian Dickinson is an Assistant Professor of English Literature. His interests include classical literature and theater, sci-fi, fantasy, and pop-culture