Reasons I Got Kicked Out of the Band

Audrey Clark
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket
2 min readDec 5, 2022

--

For those who aren’t allowed to rock, we salute you

Photo by Michelle Jimenez on Unsplash
  • I pointed all the speakers towards the stage because “we do all the work, we deserve all the music”
  • I started screaming and thrashing around while I was crowdsurfing because I thought there was a shark in there
  • I stole five hundred dollars from the euphonium player
  • I slept with the euphonium player’s girlfriend
  • I told the euphonium player he has no place in a rock band, which is true, but jeez, he’s been through a lot recently
  • It’s okay to have sex with the fans, but not during the show
  • Two bass guitars duct-taped together is not a double bass
  • A bass drum duct-taped to a guitar is not a bass guitar
  • A keyboard duct-taped to a saxophone isn’t anything, buddy, get it together
  • Not every song needs a jingle bells solo
  • The bit where I pretended to eat the drumsticks because “I thought they were chicken drumsticks” was never funny, and it got even less funny when I actually did eat the drumsticks and had to go to hospital
  • The bit where I pretended to eat the microphone because “I thought it was a chicken microphone” also wasn’t funny, didn’t make sense, and…

--

--

Audrey Clark
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Audrey Clark is an actress, writer and comedian from Sydney, Australia. She is your mum.