St. Patrick’s Shouldn’t Be a One-and-Done Like the Vernal Equinox

Let’s get really green!

Tom Navratil
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Getting in the spirit! (selfie by author)

St. Patrick’s Fortnight is upon us. That’s right, fortnight. Two full glorious weeks of shamrock-soaked blarney. Where on God’s green earth is it written that St. Paddy’s has to be confined to a single day of dyed beers and singing along at the local Irish pub?

If you’re anything like me, you’re covering your entire front in Kelly green body paint every morning and taking selfies in front of the bathroom mirror.

These photos in full-frontal green have prompted many of my admirers and social media followers to ask, what about the other side?

A good question deserves a good answer. It’s not that I lack the flexibility to reach around and smear the back half of my body, nor because I can’t afford that much body paint. Rather, it is a matter of principle: I will never, ever, cover up my dancing leprechaun tattoos, and especially not during St. Patrick’s Fortnight.

Of course, Nancy, my Irish setter, gets in on the fun too. I no longer spray paint her fur, because of previous issues we don’t need to revisit here. But I do add spinach and plenty of food coloring to her meals, so that at walk time she’s bestowing emerald nuggets of holiday cheer upon parks and lawns all around the neighborhood.

--

--

Tom Navratil
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Tom Navratil writes fiction and humor from an undisclosed (because nobody ever asks) location outside Washington, DC.