The Madwoman in the Attic Answers Letters Pleading for Her Advice

Straight talk from literature’s favorite secret “crazy” wife, Bertha Rochester

S. M. Strand
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Images in this story were created in Rawpixel and with the public domain image “The Brooch” by Edvord Munch

Dear Readers, thank you for all the letters. This advice column has been a real bright spot for me, locked up in my little attic by my husband. Thank you also to the divorce attorneys offering pro bono services. I’ll consider your generous proposals. And for those of you sending mental health “advice” I’d ask you to consider the source for whatever you’re hearing about me. Husbands have been calling their wives crazy for as long as there have been husbands. It’s their go-to when they don’t want to do the work.

Anyway, enough with the pity party, it’s not my style. Let’s get to the letters! We have some juicy ones this week.

Dear Madwoman,
I know I’m probably being silly, but I’m worried about my stepdaughter’s au pair. She and my husband have a rapport that makes me uncomfortable. He’ll ask personal questions about her dates, and she shares all the details. He admires her sketches and her bohemian style. Lately he’s been fixing her a breakfast smoothie (which he’s never done for me). She’s good at her job, but I’m worried for our marriage. I think I need to dismiss her, but do I tell her why?

--

--

S. M. Strand
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

S. M. Strand is an educator and writer living in New England.