Image licensed from Canva

Uniquely Anglo-Saxon Traditions I’m Super Stoked to See Come Back

A word from a time traveler who knows more about history than politics

3 min readApr 17, 2021

--

Hi, time traveler here! I was just horsing around after discovering the secret to time travel and inadvertently ended up stuck for 40 years in the middle ages. Most of that time was spent learning how to live with the Anglo-Saxons. Yet all good things must come to an end, and I had to come back to this time when by some fluke I got my machine working again. So imagine my delighted shock when I discovered that a group of conservatives were trying to bring back the values and traditions I had just left!

I’m not sure which ones they had in mind. But here hare a few bits of Anglo-Saxon traditions I’d like to bring to the present day.

Hydrate with alcohol

I’m so tired of drinking water. The Anglo-Saxons had the right idea. Get rid of those the stupid laws deciding what age is “appropriate” and make it legal for all ages to drink. That way children as young as 2 can drink safe mead instead of sour water that will give them a quick death. Or diarrhea. Which is also likely to lead to a swift death.

Worship the cool gods and old ways while still pretending to be Christian

--

--