Unusual Ways to Get the Username of Your Dreams

“The handle you wanted is taken? Fret not! Here’s how you can take action.”

Jane Austen’s Wastebasket
4 min readSep 23, 2019

--

Having an extremely common name has plagued me all my life. I love my parents, but they obviously didn’t love me enough to give me an instantly recognizable name. They called me after my grandmother, can you believe that lack of creativity? How could they fail to recognize that the rest of my life would be an uphill battle against already-taken usernames and expensive domains?

I’m just saying if you aren’t willing to think about your baby’s brand, you aren’t ready to have a baby.

Sometimes in life, we just have to take matters into our own hands. Here are some of my tried-and-tested solutions to being told that ‘this username has already been taken’.

Hack everyone

If kids from Disney movies can do you, it can’t be that hard! Power through a few Udemy courses, and you’ll be ready to start hacking all those pesky people who have the audacity to share their name with you in no time.

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

--

--