Image licensed from Canva

How to Attract Love With Your Phone

Updating the dead art of flirting with fans to something modern readers

4 min readSep 8, 2021

--

Where has romance gone? More specifically, why has 19th-century fan language disappeared? I yearn to take my fan out to the bar or grocery store and use it to flirt instead of depending on modern signals that can be hard to decipher. No so with fan language. Its signals are so universal that they literally wrote guides to help those preparing to go out there and get what they wanted through fan-speak.

Despite its effectiveness, I can’t bring myself to carry a fan wherever I go, let alone make it look natural in my hand. Which is why I am turning my phone into a seductive weapon. It’s no so bad actually, as much of the fan love language can be translated into phone love language if you try hard enough.

Examples:

Images by author

Carry it in your left hand in front of your face to tell someone across the room, “Hey you! I am desirous of your acquaintance.”

--

--