Was It a Mistake to Get My Degree From Wordle University?

The unvarnished truth of life after Wordle U

Peter Schooff
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

Image created in Canva

First off, I know what you’re thinking, but no, I only got my associate’s degree. The four-year degree from Wordle University is considered exceptionally rigorous. Or, to put it in Wordle speak, it is really, really TOUGH.

So the degree only took two years, or in my case, two and a half, if you count the semester I took off after the whole Wordle D-Day debacle. That day was January 1, 2022, when the solution to Wordle was REBUS. That’s right, REBUS.

According to reports, some ninety percent of average Wordle players failed that day. I am no average Wordler — but I still failed miserably. Why should I struggle through classes like “Linguistic Modes of Five Letter Discourse” if they’re not going to teach me words like REBUS? Why bother taking out student loan after loan if they’re not even going to prepare me for real-life Wordle situations?

To make matters worse, my girlfriend dumped me. She accused me of becoming too self-centered. But can you blame me? Wordle doesn’t deal in plurals. She didn’t even have the courage to tell me to my face. She simply left a note on the fridge with five blank boxes, citing that as her reason for leaving. I’ve tried contacting her, pleading for just one letter in…

--

--

Peter Schooff
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Published in the NY Times, McSweeney’s, More Mirth of a Nation, Data Juice, and Journal of Sandcastle Engineering. Which one is the lie?