Writing Workshop Feedback Explained

“This work is derivative.”

Adam Dietz
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

--

For a graduate student, a workshop course is about as close it can get to the Gladiator battles of ancient Rome. When it comes to weapons, you won’t find any of the traditional swords or shields, but that doesn’t mean that pain won’t be inflicted upon a selected prey. Should you ever find yourself sitting in a creative writing course with your work up for discussion, let this guide serve as a means of translating what your peers actually mean as they critique your writing. But whatever you do, don’t cry. It’ll only make them stronger.

This work is derivative

As a student in this class, I am obligated to give feedback each week. But to be honest, I didn’t read your work. To be even more honest, I never read anyone work. I’ve been referring to things as “derivative” for two years and I’ve never been asked to explain why. I don’t even really know what it means.

This work is great

Everyone else in the class seems to really like what you did, including our Professor, so I’ve got to get in on the action. If I go against the grain, the burden of proof is on me, and frankly that sounds kind of exhausting.

This work is fluff

--

--

Adam Dietz
Jane Austen’s Wastebasket

Comedy writer with work in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, etc. Editor of the Yapjaw newsletter.