#107 Christmas

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
2 min readDec 3, 2023

The unavoidable Christmas time came too soon. Although the date itself is not so important to me, the habits Janne and I developed throughout these years became very meaningful. For the boys, particularly Daniel, these habits are important.

At this stage, Janne would have already said, “mmm… glühwein!”, and would have gotten everything to make mulled wine at home. Although this mulled wine is known in Estonia and Ireland, no one can do it like Germans do. German Christmas markets became our real celebration of this holiday. Even during the years when we were living in Ireland and the first year in Estonia, we still visited Hamburg during this time.

(As I type this, Daniel comes because he wants to read. He asks why I wrote that about him. I explained it and he agrees. Then he asks me to come watch Home Alone. He prepared snacks and something to drink for us. Trevor joins us half into the movie.)

Last week, I plugged in our Christmas lights outside the house. I set up lights inside the house and got their Christmas stockings ready. Santa’s helpers leave a small gift every night. Janne and I always had something for them. When we forgot, we would write an “apology letter” from Santa.

Trevor hasn’t believed in Santa for a couple of years already. This year, Daniel is suspicious if Santa really exists. Trevor and I wondered if he still believes or not. Friday night, while I watch a movie, Trevor comes excited to tell me that Daniel doesn’t believe in Santa anymore. I asked Daniel why he doesn’t believe, and he says it’s simple: no steps in the snow. I love their critical thinking.

We agreed to get a tree, maybe a natural one. We have been toying with the idea to get a plastic tree (a fake one, as Daniel says). When watching Home Alone, we spoke that a real one would be better. We’ll buy it at the same place Janne and I went for the last ten years.

I am not sure if I’ll watch my favorite Christmas movie, the Finnish film “Rare Exports”. This is an unorthodox story that became a favorite of us. We watched it at the Estonian premiere during a film festival in 2010. Its tagline is, “you thought you didn’t believe in Santa Claus anymore”. Maybe I’ll believe then.

--

--