#112 Perfect vision

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readDec 9, 2023

I misplaced my glasses recently, first time in my life. It is not the first time that I lose my glasses though. It’s not much of a trouble as I just have a mild myopia, but I still ordered new glasses today.

I am brand-loyal when products do the job. It simplifies making decisions for me. If I get new glasses, they will be Silhouette. This brand produces the lightest set of frames and glasses that I could find.

The first pair survived about seven years throughout my years in Germany, and almost until the end of our time in Dublin. During our last Summer there, we took a walk towards the City Center. While we were in a corner just by the Four Courts and across The Legal Eagle pub waiting for a change of lights, a sudden gust of wind came from behind. Did I mention that Silhouette frames are light? My glasses flew upwards and fell in the middle of the intersection. I saw a car smashing them. I could retrieve only one leg and the middle bridge. The other leg went missing probably to the bottom of the River Liffey.

Janne herself had half-rim glasses, but also used contact lenses. The day we met, she had this bluish shade in her eyes. I used to ask her jokingly what she had done with my purple-eyed vision of a woman. Sometimes she’d use green contacts. However, when I saw her gray eyes, there was no better color for me. Soon after, she stopped using colored contacts.

Eventually I managed to get a new pair of Silhouettes. I convinced Janne to get herself a pair. She used to joke that we would start wearing the same clothes too.

What she really wanted was to get rid of her glasses and contacts. She investigated on getting a laser surgery. Some time after Daniel’s birth, she did exactly that. She was ecstatic as she had perfect vision now.

During the last couple years, Janne noticed that she was not seeing as good anymore. This was the natural ageing effect. She thought that maybe she should check for glasses again, but postponed it for as long as possible. She disliked the idea of not having perfect vision anymore. I am happy she left without having to wear any glasses until the end.

As for me, looking into Janne’s eyes, that was the true perfect vision.

--

--