#115 One shot

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readDec 13, 2023

Sometimes, I browse over old photos to see Janne (who I am kidding, I do this all the time). Today, I was watching my photos taken on February 3rd 2022. This is another of those days stuck in my head as a perfect day.

We had come to Lanzarote to celebrate a little victory. One of those days, we decided to take a trip to a water park. We drove there, entered the park and realized that the concept of water parks was a world of difference to what we have in Estonia. Here, you expect to have warm water. Over there, they said they were heating the water, but it was still colder than the Baltic Sea in the Summer. Even Janne couldn’t get into the water. We didn’t stay long.

We headed to Playa Blanca, a cozy little beach with the usual cafes around. We walked along the promenade. Daniel saw an old couple with a dog that he wanted to pet. I talked to the couple (Daniel and I are not afraid of saying hi to strangers). They allowed Daniel to play with the dog. We had a long conversation with them, about how they found that this was the perfect place to live after they had visited. Janne and I talked later about possibilities.

We headed back and looked for a place to eat. We walked along some streets around and found this Japanese restaurant that became our favorite place. The server was the daughter of the Japanese owners, but she had grown up in Spain. Made me think of Trevor and Daniel growing up with multiple languages. I talked with her about it.

Throughout that day, I pulled my camera and made a few photos. Even out-of-focus pictures were perfect. After watching them again tonight, my favorite is the one where I’m all blurry but Janne’s eyes are fully on focus. After the restaurant, we went exploring around. Daniel was running around yelling happily (something he can’t do as much outside our house, thanks neighbor very much).

Eminem, one of our favorites, says in Lose Yourself: “Look, if you had one shot or one opportunity / To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment / Would you capture it or just let it slip?” That Japanese restaurant was our favorite, but for some reason, we couldn’t eat there again. We had one shot and we took it, no questions asked.

--

--