#121 Travels

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
2 min readDec 23, 2023

I decided to take the boys away for the holidays. They haven’t had two proper Summers. Cancer travelled with the four of us in the few trips we did. I thought of taking them away to a warm place. Los Angeles came to mind. Then one of those close empathetic friends contacted me a few days later to offer to host us without knowing I was thinking of his city. We took his offer.

Packing was not difficult for us. We would get it done on a couple of hours. We had clear division of labor. I’d deal with anything about reservations, tickets, car rental, electronics while Janne dealt with the stuff for Trevor and Daniel. We had clothes, medicines, swimming gear and so on. We always travelled light though.

My goal with the boys has always been that travel should not be foreign to them. They should be able to board an airplane as easy as taking the bus from school. Janne liked the idea. They have been good sports as sometimes it takes an effort for them.

This time, I started packing three nights before the flight. I needed to imagine what Janne would do for them. I’m sure that I overdid it as I’m prepared for anything that could happen. They were ready on time for our taxi to the airport even though we woke up at 4 a.m. Janne was the only one suffering if we had to wake up early. I knew she needed space as it took a long time for her to wake up in full.

We are connecting through a German airport. I ordered us something to drink. I decided to try my rusty German to see their reaction. They got very surprised that I was speaking another language. This led to the conversation about Janne being better at German than me. They asked me if Janne taught me (she wasn’t that patient).

Even though logistically we made it as good as we could, it triggers me to see one less suitcase with us. Janne bought that one during a trip to London. We still have it even if it doesn’t work properly (Janne got so upset when the handle wouldn’t work). I won’t get rid of it even if it’s broken, just as I can’t get rid of my broken heart.

I hope you had safe travels in that last trip, Janne. Miss you.

--

--