#162 Adventure

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
2 min readFeb 27, 2024

The three of us are chasing stars, literally. Trevor and I are figuring out where to stargaze. We got a tip from my cousin for a viewpoint to try. We leave our hotel at 7:30 p.m. We are in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria, a city as big as Tallinn, just with better food and worse traffic. Light pollution is an issue.

When we are walking to get our car from the parking house, I take a different route. Daniel asks me why, when we take a new route, it feels much longer. I love that question. I say that when our brain sees new things, places or routes, it makes us feel that time is longer. Routine makes time go fast. This has been my personal philosophy since before meeting Janne, that I can make my life longer by experiencing new little things every day.

We arrived at the town we were going to, but we needed to have dinner first. This town has tiny streets and no parking. I see a parking house open and drive in. When walking out, we see that the gate is closed. I realize that we got into a private parking my mistake. We are worried that we can’t get the car out, but I reassured them that there is always a way out. I saw someone driving out so I went to ask him. He explains how to get out. He also suggests where I can find parking on the street.

When we are walking to our chosen pizza place, I tell the boys that this is called an adventure. Daniel immediately says that he doesn’t like adventures, that he doesn’t know what’s coming. But I tell him, that’s the point. I tell them too that by having adventures is how I ran into Janne.

At first, Janne found it weird that I thought I could live longer by doing new things. Eventually, she got along and liked it. We would take new roads all the time. We were spontaneous wanting to try the new. I was living the adventure of my life.

Those twenty years by her side felt like a hundred with all the little new things. Even then, all those years fly by in a second and hit me like an arrow piercing my heart leaving me a bit broken when I least expect it.

But I will continue. I hope that Trevor’s and Daniel’s lives will be long adventures. I just need to get them started.

--

--