#177 Hurt

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
2 min readApr 1, 2024

I have been shifting some stuff in the house. I got a beanbag for Daniel last year mainly to encourage him to put more of an effort into Estonian at school (bribing is one of my pedagogical tools). However, it doesn’t really fit in his room. Janne bought a lot of furniture that doesn’t leave much space.

I decide to shift the beanbag to my room instead of the chair by the side of the bed. That chair should move to the place where I have my amplifier. This amp moves together with my guitar to a free space in the living room. Problem solved.

That guitar, I have barely played it. It still feels sad to turn it on. Even if it only was my own hobby, Janne encouraged me all the time.

Janne always told me that she disliked country music. I do like country a little bit especially after living in Montana. I used to play some Johnny Cash songs for her to try to convince her. Then the great movie “Walk The Line”, a biopic of Cash and June Carter, completed the job.

There is one song that I love which is called Hurt. This was written by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails in a very different style. Johnny Cash decided to do a cover of this song in what would be the last album he released while he was alive. Reznor heard it and said that the song was not his anymore.

When I was trying to find a song that I could learn, Hurt was the first one that I could follow along from beginning to end. Most of the chords are simple, except that F bar chord. I would play it every single time I would turn the guitar on to warm up. The first time I managed to play it, Janne yelled an excited compliment from another room.

The video for this song is beautiful. There are scenes when Johnny Cash was young and other scenes of sad abandonment in a museum dedicated to him. June Carter, the love of his life, is watching him. Carter died just three months later, while Cash died seven months after filming this. It’s their live testament.

I still remembered those chords. I didn’t want to stop.

Hurt

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

--

--