#187 Rome

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
1 min readApr 23, 2024

This Roman enoteca
You would have loved it
Spiderwebs over a lamp
Yet still full of life
A live conversation
In musical words
I almost understand them
But it’s still all so foreign

Nineteen years ago
You and I were around
Our live conversation
Lasted a while
Your words were like music
I treasured them all
The Forum, Colosseum
We stepped on all stones
With this we got closer
The empire was ours
Now it is all in ruins
My heart holds remains
Of the empire that was
Only memories stayed
The world grew around it
Our love was a wonder
And it’s now an exhibit
Just a shadow to behold

You’d love this place
The wine is exquisite
Salami, bread, olives,
All right to your taste
But it’s all just too quiet
Despite all the noise
I toast to our glory
To you and your love

My heart is in ruins
But just like the Phoenix
Straight from its ashes
It shall rise again.

--

--