#207 Midsummer Day

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readJun 23, 2024

The 24th of June is “Jaanipäev” or St. John’s Day. The evening of the 23rd is the biggest time in Estonia. Think of Easter plus Christmas in Guatemala or Thanksgiving and 4th of July together in the US, except without fireworks (Estonians dislike noise). This is an ancient tradition that predates any Western culture. There is always a bonfire, a large one (I’ve read that it keeps bad spirits away). A former Estonian president suggested that the celebration was to re-enact the Kaali meteorite that exploded over the Estonian islands about three or four thousand years ago. Either way, it’s a big occasion here.

Although it’s easy to have metaphors about fire, bad spirits and crater explosions, my memories of this day are very simple. Eleven years ago, we moved into our house exactly on this day. Estonians typically flock to their countryside places to celebrate with bonfires and saunas and drinking, but we didn’t even consider ever having a countryside place.

We usually went to an event in Rohuneeme, not so far from our house. We didn’t know anyone there, but Janne found it by chance. I did run into people I know though (she wasn’t surprised anymore). We would bring the boys with us so they could enjoy the music, the big swing that could hold about 40 people and the large bonfire. We would then walk to the beach just to see the sunset.

The last two years, we also joined another celebration in a nearby place as she wanted to meet friends. Two years ago, I was buying Janne and her friend non-stop mojitos. I was just the designated driver. I also ran into people I knew (I have a problem). The boys would be running around and jumping on the big inflatable slide.

A year ago, I knew it was the final stretch. I had mentioned this to a few people, but no one really believed me. Janne was still in good spirits and had enough energy to walk, talk, have a blast. I know that she was aware, because we both were discussing our testaments around these same days with our notary. Our last Midsummer Day combined both happy times as well as reality.

I have a photo where I captured her during our 2018 Midsummer Day. That was a perfect day.

--

--