#235 Gravity

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
2 min readAug 28, 2024

We are in a foreign country. I go to a supermarket late at night. It’s eerily quiet. I’m watching everything like in slow motion (this happens a lot nowadays). For some reason, I think of the movie Gravity.

When that movie came out, I went to watch it with a friend, big screen and 3D glasses in all its glory. I loved it even though the story is not for everyone. Janne didn’t watch it in the cinema as Daniel had been just born. I had described to her that most of the movie is seen from the vantage point of an astronaut trying to survive a disaster. It might feel claustrophobic.

We had just moved into our house, the one by the TV Tower. Since we had more space, we got a new TV. It didn’t take long to decide on the model (always a Philips). It came with 3D glasses. As soon as we could watch Gravity at home, Janne and I sat down with our 3D glasses and watched the whole movie. This was the only movie we watched with those glasses.

That TV died about four months before Janne did. She was spending more time in our room than anywhere else. I set it up so she’d be comfortable there. As soon as I realized that our TV had an irreparable electronic malfunction, I just got a replacement. Decision-making is easy for me. I got the next Philips that it’s still hanging from our wall. Janne was still comfortable.

Gravity is a movie about loss. You are enjoying the best time in your life when all of the sudden you lose everything. Who expects that George Clooney (spoiler alert) is going to vanish at the beginning of the movie. Sandra Bullock (playing the astronaut Ryan Stone) spends most of the movie alone, panic after panic, figuring out stuff that she isn’t prepared for. So yes, it’s about loss. It describes how I have been feeling this whole year.

I just read last weekend what Sandra Bullock said about it. It makes total sense why this movie came to my mind: “It’s about rebirth. How do you let go in the worst possible situation so you can have some kind of release and peace? Life is not going to stop coming at you. In the end, you just have to say, ‘I have no control.’ Your time is precious. Are you really going to waste it worrying about this stuff?”

--

--