#57 The End Is Nigh

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readOct 14, 2023

Bell X1 is a popular Irish band established long time ago. I didn’t discover them while we were living in Ireland, but much later. When they released their album “Chop Chop” in 2013, I immediately fell for it. As usual, I had to introduce Janne to it. One of the very few times that I saw her going through a tough situation, I told her to listen to this. I still recall her message saying how down she was, but that she knew that Bell X1 would fix her.

I have never fled the topic of death. It’s the same attitude when I watch a good movie, read a great book or listen to my favorite podcast. I consider how long it will take at first so I enjoy better every single scene, page, comment. After all, we all have this ticking clock that eventually gives in, but we just don’t know when. I don’t want to leave everything I want till the end. I don’t want a rush of regret before my final call.

Oh, it’s good to see you smile
I remember how you held me as I cried
And flailing like a landed fish
Trying to get back to before his day went awry

The last song of this album is called The End is Nigh. It wonders about how the end will be, about who will be there next to you. I could only imagine Janne next to me, but in opposite roles. If you listen to it (which you should do right now), you will notice that it is a hopeful tune, not one of despair. The official video was filmed in a fair in the city of Düsseldorf which reminds me of our time living in Germany (those “Haltenstelle” yellow and green signs are too familiar).

I treasure the scars
We’ll always have… well, I don’t remember where we were
Don’t think we’ve returned
These moments are fleeting as they are pure

I had always this idea to create a playlist of songs that should be played in my own funeral. Even though it might sound dark, the real reason is that people would remember me better with music. If you really know me, you know which music I like. I’m not shy about it. The last song in that playlist would be The End Is Nigh.

Whose arms would I seek?
Whose eyes would I meet in the final throes?
And say it was good to be human
To be a human with you here.

I hope Janne felt it was good to be a human with me here.

--

--