#62 Dream puzzle

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readOct 19, 2023

At any special occasion, I wrote a little note for Janne. It took me just a few minutes and came straight from my heart (like this story).

I remember that in 2004 I had written a letter to Janne and was curious if she had kept it. I went through a cabinet and found a clear plastic container with lots of pre-2010 cards and keepsakes. The letter I was looking for was there, but more than that, I noticed that Janne had kept every single birthday and Valentine’s day card I had given her. They express my emotions during those years.

In 2005 I gave her a different card. It was stored in an envelope that Janne had labeled with her name and a happy smiley. This was a sign that she liked it as she wasn’t that expressive. It was a puzzle (Janne too was a bit of a puzzle). I wrote my message for her and then I split it apart so she had to put it together. Not sure how I thought of that, because Janne wasn’t patient at all for these things. Still, she liked it.

I got all the pieces out on my bedside table and started putting them together. I started first with the picture but thought it easier to follow the clues of my own handwriting. It wasn’t simple so I thought that some pieces were lost. There was a moment when Félix came out of curiosity and nearly dropped some of the pieces off the table. After 20 minutes of guessing and trying, I managed to put the puzzle together. The message is not something that would win me any literature award: I wrote about her dreams, about how she was my dream that had come true and that I hoped I was in her dreams. It made me teary when I read it.

Then, I turned it around to see the other side which I didn’t remember. I am so good to play pranks on myself 18 years into the future. The picture was of a cat just like Félix. Did I just plant that cat idea in Janne’s mind just like in the movie Inception? Or is that freaking cat a time traveler who likes to torture me even in my past? I couldn’t do anything but smile.

It’s the little things like this that make feel still alive. Janne was the piece that was missing in my puzzle. That piece is missing again, but I have memories to fill in the gap.

Janne, you certainly were my dream come true.

--

--