#86 The tree

Karim Heredia
Janne: A magical life
3 min readNov 12, 2023

On a clear, warm day in September 2009, Janne and I went exploring. I had arrived three weeks before from Ireland. I am very curious about new places so Tallinn was no exception (this curiosity is still here).

This day we headed towards Pirita, the east end of Tallinn. We walked along a promenade for about an hour. This was a transitional period for us. Janne was establishing herself at her new job while I was just getting started with mine.

Who knew that so soon after my arrival we got to see what became our home a few years later. This is where we live now, where the boys go to school, where Janne’s remains rest, where our favorite family restaurant is near our favorite forests.

I didn’t have a digital camera at the time, but Janne had surprised me with a new iPhone 3GS. This was the place where I made my first iPhone photo (of a lonely tree). I also had an analogue camera with me. I made a photo of Janne in front of another tree. Besides having Janne in there, that photo was unremarkable until recently. It is now one of my most precious treasures.

This was the beginning of what turned out to be a very difficult year for me. I had already several years of experience, but ran into people who had a way to make you feel inferior. It didn’t help that I was coming out from a place where I didn’t need to prove anything and could just be myself. I am a hard worker so I persevered. The most important part is that I had Janne to save me.

Yesterday I told the boys we would eat out. We headed to our favorite family restaurant. While we are sitting there, I feel the need to walk with them for a few minutes. Complaints from them ensue, but I don’t give in. We keep walking. Daniel, the parkourist, immediately finds big boulders to climb. Trevor stays with me talking about ferries departing to Finland.

After 10 minutes, I see those trees. It’s time to tell the boys where we are. I pull the old analogue photo I made then. Trevor and Daniel understand. They immediately start searching. We agree that this is what we are looking for. This tree seems eternal (I hope it never dies). I asked them to pose for me.

As it happened 14 years ago, everything I love is in front of this tree.

--

--