Jannette Thrasher
Jannette Thras
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2020

--

Dear God,

The children you lent to us are truly a gift from You.

Yesterday they were catching daddy long leg spiders with the neighborhood kids while enthusiastically feeding them to a giant wolf spider.

Their exciting screams and bubbly laughs made my heart well up with thoughts of joy, because in that same moment I envisioned the kids all grown up with families and jobs of their own.

I’m “finally” beginning to realize something.

These moments in time are a treasure. Yes!

The mommy meltdowns, spilled milk, dog barf, arguing over who’s turn it is to do the dishes. The chasing and catching lizards, the bubble baths, chicken nuggets, mac & cheese, crying over math facts, spelling tests, or running late for church. Yes! The sleepless nights, praying over boo boos, dancing in the kitchen, falling off skateboards, and hormonal puberty mixed with moms hot flashes.

God, you have so graciously allowed these bittersweet, rapidly passing days.

Where did they go?

It’s been said, “Don’t blink because before you know it they’ll be off and on their own and it will be just you and your husband.”

Dear God, maybe I’m the type that doesn’t understand certain things until I experience it for myself. I guess that’s just life.

Raising children has been the hardest most challenging thing.

Children bring out the best and worst in a person and there have been many times I’ve been brought to my knees on account of my kids.

Unquestionably, not one person has this raising kid thing down.

Yet Lord, You always remind me that it’s the most eternally rewarding experience we can partner with You in, and nothing compares to the blessings of this beautiful ministry of motherhood, under marriage itself.

I once read that children are not our trophies to reflect who we are as parents, but they are people like myself. Sinners who are in need of a Savior just like the rest of the world.

Our children are fearfully and wonderfully made in Your image and it’s our responsibility as parents to show them who You are before they fly the coop.

Thank You for using my kids by challenging me to follow You with my whole heart.

These beautiful souls are the arrows that will go forth into this vast world to proclaim Jesus as God with us.

Dear God,

I’ve already made mistakes and I don’t get a do over on this one. But by your mercy I’m thankful to know that You work all things together for good to those who love you. I’m learning something new from those who have ventured this journey of child rearing as a parent. They don’t belong to me. But I’ll never cease praying for them the rest of my life and no matter what, they are woven into the fabric of my mind and heart.

There’s this quote that says, “Enjoy the Simple Things”.

Dear God, let me enjoy your goodness TODAY. #ohmygeekers

--

--