Jannette Thrasher
Jannette Thras
Published in
Sep 17, 2021

Set Me On Fire

Silence is Golden they say.

Yet everything seems so grey?

I want to be set on fire,

but I’m afraid I’m terribly tired.

Clouds loom to the same old tune.

Not even a book in a nook can set me free.

The Fairy gods are so busy and I’m afraid I’m getting dizzy.

Round and round on the playground.

I just want to be found.

I’m lost, I’m dead, and hungry for The Living Bread.

Instead I ignore Him as He waits by my bed.

Silence is Golden they say.

But it’s just SO grey!

Deliver me today!

Unlock my voice in this destitute place,

I’ll be so amazed.

Don’t be ashamed to proclaim his name.

I just wanna be the flame,

rapidly burning and turning my world brighter and brighter!

Don’t give up,

Be a fighter!

Please set me on fire!