Starting in Japan

Alastair Tse
Japan.init()
Published in
1 min readAug 20, 2017

--

東京茶寮

I would not of believed it if you told me at the beginning of 2017 I would be living in Japan by the end of the year. Yet, here we are.

I’ve managed to travel the world through sheer luck and lack of planning. I’ve moved countries nearly every few years. Starting first in Scotland, then Hong Kong for 5, Australia for 3, Hong Kong for another 5, Australia for another 8, UK for 9, US for 6. So it is not surprising that I find myself moving to Japan.

Surprisingly, this is not the first country I’ve moved to where I don’t know the language. I moved to Australia at the age of 5 not knowing English. The only difference with Japan this time around is I’m thirty or so years older and less thick skinned.

It may end well, it may end badly, but in any case, it’ll make for a great story to share.

--

--

Alastair Tse
Japan.init()

Software, Design, Data, Architecture, Photography, Food.