Exploring Retro Cafes in Japan: A Review of Sennariya Coffee in LaLaport Kawasaki Plaza

Takuya Shimada
Japan Insider
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2023

Hi there! As someone who loves exploring cafes, I recently visited “Sennariya Coffee” in LaLaport Kawasaki Plaza and wanted to share my review of the place.

I chose Sennariya Coffee based on the retro atmosphere and the retro-style pudding that caught my eye in the reviews on Google Maps. I visited on a Sunday afternoon and although it was crowded, I was able to get a seat after about a 15-minute wait.

I was seated at the counter which was great for me because I find it hard to hear others when there are partitions between tables due to COVID-19 precautions. The fact that there were two power outlets at the counter was a plus for me too.

The ambiance inside the cafe was calm and had a brown color theme. However, because the space was not very large, unfortunately, the outside noise was audible and affected the retro atmosphere of the place. I would love to visit again on a quieter weekday if possible.

After ordering, I received my first drink, a chocolate banana juice, in about 5 minutes. The cup design immediately caught my attention. It had a lion or tiger-like creature on it that looked like it could be from a children’s storybook. It was perfect for the old-fashioned cafe vibe that I was looking for. The taste of the juice was satisfyingly delicious too.

Finally, the pudding parfait that I had been eagerly anticipating arrived. A custard pudding was perched on top of the parfait just like I had imagined. The top half was delicious, but the bottom half was too sweet for my liking due to the use of fruit sauce. Since the top half already had sweet custard pudding, it would have been great if there were some ice cream or something else that could serve as a palate cleanser.

I ordered drinks and desserts this time, but they also have meal items like fruit sandwiches and spaghetti on the menu. I’m looking forward to trying those out next time.

Thank you for reading until the end. I will continue to write about my experiences at cafes and travels in Japan. I would be happy if you enjoyed it.

--

--

Takuya Shimada
Japan Insider

Japanese software engineer who loves traveling & learning about cultures. Rediscovering Japanese culture/history. Interested in various lifestyles.